ELGPN – European Lifelong Guidance Policy Network

The ELGPN promotes cooperation in the development of policies and systems for lifelong guidance provision at national level through European cooperation.

The ELGPN aims to contribute to European cooperation on lifelong guidance in both the education and the employment sectors, and cross-sectorally. The work has been an ongoing process since 2007. In the present project period, work will be based on experience and development from previous phases. The network will focus on adaptation, implementation and sharing activities related to the Resource Kit, - a tool that was developed in the 2011–2012 project period. The key focus of this new phase is to make an impact, both at national and European levels. The impact will be achieved through promoting the adaptation, field testing, and application of the Resource Kit at member-country level through Policy Review Clusters (PRCs), on the following topics:

  • PRC1: All priorities
  • PRC2: CMS
  • PRC3: Access
  • PRC4: Co-ordination/Co-operation
  • PRC5: Quality

The Norwegian delegation takes part in groups 2 and 5.

The ELGPN work programmes include different working methods: PRC groups, plenary meetings, peer learning activities within field visits, commissioned technical work, and technical work funded from other sources.


Membership of the network is open to all countries eligible for funding under the Lifelong Learning Programme 2007–13. The participating countries designate their representatives in the network. At present, 31 European countries are members of the network, which is coordinated by Finland.

The Norwegian delegation is appointed by the Ministry of Education and Research and the Ministry of Work and Welfare, and includes members from Skills Norway, from the Norwegian Directorate of Work and Welfare, and from the Norwegian Directorate for Education and Training. The delegation is coordinated by Skills Norway.

The current project period

The work of the ELGPN is organised in two-year work periods. The current period lasts from 1 January 2013 to 31 December 2014.


Read more on the project website