The national curriculum in Norwegian language and social studies for adult immigrants

The national curriculum is regulated by the Introduction Act. Skills Norway has the responsibility for the implementation and further development of the curriculum.

Curriculum content

The curriculum is based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). The competence objectives in the curriculum are described for 5 proficiencies up to level B2 in accordance with CEFR.

The curriculum also comprises a basic literacy module for participants who cannot read or write in their mother tongue. And it also includes a separate curriculum of 50 hours of social studies in a language that the participant can understand. The curriculum outlines various objectives within seven topics.

The seven topics are:

  1. New immigrant in Norway
  2. History, Geography and lifestyle
  3. Children and family
  4. Health
  5. Education and skills
  6. Working life
  7. Democracy and welfare state